Jump to content

IUCN National Committee of Finland

Latest news RSS

Restoration of Urban Longinoja Brook Wins Finnish Biodiversity Award 2017-2018

Perseverance in the voluntary restoration of the urban brook of Longinoja in the Malmi suburb of Helsinki won the Finnish Biodiversity Award 2017-2018. The winner was chosen by the National Committee of Finland of IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature. The award was given out in Helsinki on 25 February 2019 by Minister of the Environment, Energy and Housing Kimmo Tiilikainen.

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is a network of NGOs and states, promoting environmental protection and the sustainable use of natural resources. The IUCN aims to halt the loss of biodiversity and to use nature-based solutions to eliminate poverty and prevent climate change.

The IUCN's Finnish members include:

  • The Finnish Association for Nature Conservation
  • Natur och Miljö
  • WWF Finland
  • BirdLife Finland
  • Helsinki Zoo
  • Finnish Wildlife Agency
  • Government of Finland, represented by the Ministry of the Environment

These parties have formed Finland's IUCN Committee. The committee represents Finnish members at IUCN. Alongside with the Ministry of the Environment, the state member, the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Metsähallitus Parks & Wildlife Finland and the Finnish Environment Institute participate in the committee work. Other organisations in the sector also participate in the committee's activities.

IUCN commissions consist of experts in various fields

Commissions are an important part of IUCN's work. All six Commissions have experts living in Finland. From Finland's viewpoint, the most important are the World Commission on Protected Areas (WCPA), the Species Survival Commission (SSC) and the World Commission on Environment Law (WCEL).

Members of the IUCN National Committee of Finland

The IUCN National Committee of Finland is formed by the Finnish member organisation of the IUCN and the Finnish Government, which is represented in the National Committee by the Ministry of the Environment. The National Committee also includes other ministries and government agencies dealing with nature conservation matters.

National Committee Chair

Ms Päivi Lundvall, Executive Director, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation, firstname.lastname@sll.fi, tel. +358 40 184 3636

National Committee Secretariat

Ms Sanna-Kaisa Juvonen, Senior Advisor, International Cooperation, Metsähallitus Parks & Wildlife Finland, tel.int. +358 40 774 3933, firstname.lastname@metsa.fi


  • Finnish Association for Nature Conservation
    Mr Olli Turunen, Development Cooperation Coordinator, firstname.lastname@sll.fi
    Deputy: Mr Tapani Veistola, Senior Advisor, firstname.lastname@sll.fi
  • Natur och Miljö
    Ms Sonja Jaari, PhD, firstnamelastname@me.com
    Debuty: Mr Jon Lindström, MSc, firstname.m.lastname@gmail.com
  • WWF Finland
    Ms Anne Tarvainen, Head of Programme, International Development, firstname.lastname@wwf.fi
    Deputy: Mr Jari Luukkonen, Conservation Director, firstname.lastname@wwf.fi
  • Finnish Wildlife Agency
    Mr Marko Svensberg, Senior Advisor, firstname.lastname@riista.fi
    Deputy: Mr Mikko Alhainen, Senior Advisor, firstname.lastname@riista.fi
  • BirdLife Finland
    Mr Teemu Lehtiniemi, Head of Conservation and Science, firstname.lastname@birdlife.fi
    Deputy: Mr Tero Toivanen, Conservation Officer, firstname.lastname@birdlife.fi
  • Helsinki Zoo
    Ms Sanna Hellström, CEO, firstname.lastname@korkeasaari.fi
    Deputy: Ms Nina Trontti, Director of Animal Care Unit, firstname.lastname@korkeasaari.fi
  • Ministry of the Environment
    Mr Esko Hyvärinen, Senior Ministerial Adviser, firstname.o.lastname@ym.fi
    Ms Aulikki Alanen, Senior Ministerial Adviser, firstname.lastname@ym.fi


  • Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
    Ms Johanna Niemivuo-Lahti, Ministerial Adviser, firstname.lastname@mmm.fi
    Deputy: Mr Janne Pitkänen, Senior Specialist, firstname.lastname@mmm.fi
  • Ministry for Foreign Affairs
    Ms Outi Myatt-Hirvonen, Senior Adviser, Development Policy (Environment and Climate), firstname.lastname@formin.fi
    Ms Maria Forslund, Desk Officer, UN Environmental Policy, firstname.lastname@formin.fi
  • Metsähallitus Parks & Wildlife Finland
    Mr Stig Johansson, Director of International Affairs, firstname.lastname@metsa.fi
    Deputy: Mr Lasse Kurvinen, Senior Advisor, firstname.lastname@metsa.fi
  • Finnish Environment Institute
    Ms Anne Raunio, Head of Unit, Finnish Environment Institute, firstname.lastname@ymparisto.fi
    Deputy: Ms Terhi Ryttäri, Senior Researcher, Finnish Environment Institute, firstname.lastname@ymparisto.fi

Permanent Adviser to the Committee

Ms Henna Haapala, Ministerial Adviser, Ministry of the Environment, firstname.lastname@ymparisto.fi

Further information

Ms Marina von Weissenberg, Senior Ministerial Adviser, tel. +358 50 307 0806, firstname.lastname@ym.fi [marina.weissenberg]

Published 2019-01-09 at 14:22, updated 2020-02-18 at 12:03