Jump to content

Climate Policy Round Table

Latest News

Strong support from Climate Policy Roundtable for recovery measures that mitigate climate emissions

The Climate Policy Roundtable held its first meeting on Thursday 28 May. The focus of the meeting that for the most part took place through virtual channels was on recovery after the coronavirus crisis. The members of the roundtable expressed their strong support for climate-sustainable recovery measures.

The purpose of the Climate Policy Round Table is to create a common understanding of how Finland can make a just transition to a carbon neutral society within an accelerated timeframe. The Climate Policy Round Table does not make decisions; instead, its work aims to support the preparation and implementation of climate policy at the national level.

Climate Policy Round Table was appointed in February 2020 and it will carry out its activities during the current government term.


Composition of The Climate Policy Round Table


Prime Minister Sanna Marin

Vice Chairs

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Krista Mikkonen

Minister of Economy Mika Lintilä

Sara Nyman, youth climate delegate, Finnish National Youth Council Allianssi

Jouni Keronen, CEO, Climate Leadership Coalition


Ari Alatossava, Chief Executive, Municipality of Ii

Jarkko Eloranta, Chair, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK

Sture Fjäder, Chair, Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland Akava

Laura Hildén, Chair, Agenda 2030 Youth Group

Jyri Häkämies, Managing Director, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK

Timo Jaatinen, General Director, Finnish Forest Industries Federation

Tuomas Aslak Juuso, Vice-President, Sámi Parliament in Finland

Mari Kiviniemi, Managing Director, Federation of Finnish Commerce

Rilli Lappalainen, Director of Advocacy and Policy, Finnish Development NGOs Fingo

Jukka Leskelä, Managing Director, Finnish Energy

Päivi Lundvall, Chief Executive, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation

Juha Marttila, Chair, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK

Salka Orivuori, Development Manager, Martha Organization

Antti Palola, Chair, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK

Timo Reina, Deputy Managing Director, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities

Suvi Rihtniemi, CEO, Helsinki Region Transport HSL

Liisa Rohweder, CEO, WWF Finland

Sampo Seppänen, Economist, Federation of Finnish Enterprises

Helena Soimakallio, Executive Director, Technology Industries of Finland

Tiina Vyyryläinen, Head of Policy Team, Consumers’ Union of Finland

Representatives of Expert Bodies:

Research Professor Hannele Korhonen, Finnish Climate Panel

Professor Eeva Furman, Expert Panel for Sustainable Development

Mari Pantsar, Director, “resource-wise and carbon-neutral society” theme area, Sitra

More information

Merja Turunen, Senior Environmental Adviser, Ministry of the Environment, tel. +358 295 250 387, merja.turunen@ym.fi

Published 2020-05-08 at 10:06, updated 2020-08-13 at 14:07